Skip to navigation

Tubewalker: The Tube, on Foot

Contact Me: Guestbook

Bren

Subject: Career in Travel Writing
Posted: 16 Dec 2004 8:40 pm

Hi Mark,

I'm new to travel writing. I'm doing a home-study/distance learning course offered by AWAI. Have you heard of them and if so, what is your opinion?

Also, is it, in your opinion, realistic to believe I can support myself full time as a travel writer, assuming I have what it takes to get published in the first place?

I guess I'm just looking for overall advice. I'm attempting to change careers and I enjoy writing, though I am more accustomed to writing screenplays, plays and poems rather than articles. I want to travel overseas (I live in the US and have not left since I was 4 yrs. old) so, this seems like a logical career path for me.

Any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I'm going to download your ebook now.

Take care,
Bren

Post a Reply

Mark Moxon

Subject: Advice on travel writing
Posted: 17 Dec 2004 11:08 am

Hi Bren.

Most of the advice I've got for budding travel writers can be found here:

http://www.moxon.net/travel_tips/how_to_be_a_travel_writer.html

I haven't heard of AWAI, but I'm British, so I wouldn't. 😀 I also can;t really say how easy it is to become a full-time travel writer, because I've never been one; I continue to earn my living working with websites, and do the travel writing strictly as a hobby (and that's the way I like it, as it enables me to do things like release eBooks for free, which is hardly a commercial activity).